Multiple DWI Offenses Mean Serious Potential Penalties

Dwi Drunk Driving

If you get arrested in North Carolina for DUI/DWI, and you have one or more prior drunk driving/DWI convictions within the previous seven years in any state or federal jurisdiction, you could face potentially serious penalties.

Penalties For Second, Third And Fourth DWI Convictions In North Carolina

The level of punishment for a repeat DWI conviction depends on various factors. Generally you can expect the following:

  • Second DWI conviction within seven years - Misdemeanor DWI with a minimum seven days and a possible maximum of one year in jail, up to $1,000 in fines and a suspended license for four years if you had a previous DWI within three years
  • Third DWI conviction within seven years - Misdemeanor DWI with a minimum of 30 days in jail and a possible maximum of two years in jail, up to $2,000 in fines maximum, plus your driver's license revoked permanently if you had a prior DWI within five years
  • Fourth DWI conviction within ten years - Felony DWI punishable by a mandatory minimum of one year in jail, and a possible maximum of three years, as much as $4,000 in fines and permanent license revocation for three previous convictions within the last ten years

An impounded vehicle, ignition interlock devices, mandatory rehabilitation and other consequences may also apply.

Other Potential Consequences

If other aggravating factors - such as accidents involving serious injuries or child passengers or adults with mental or physical impairments at the time of the stop - could heighten fines, jail time and/or result in permanent driver's license revocation.

Over 25 Years Of Criminal Defense Experience To Defend You

The good news is that criminal defense lawyer Chris Connelly has over 25 years of criminal defense experience representing those facing first time and subsequent drunk driving charges. He is also a certified specialist in State Criminal Law certified by the North Carolina State Bar.

Attorney Connelly is committed to seeking the best possible outcome to your DUI charges.

Call Our Office Today To Discuss Your Charges

Call us at 704-376-9376 or email our Charlotte office to schedule a meeting to discuss your drunk driving arrest.

Looking for more information? Find out about the DMV hearing or how to get your driver's license restored.

Reasonable Fees. Payment Plans. Credit Cards Accepted. Se Habla Español. Located Near Jail And Court