If you are stopped for driving under the influence and the law enforcement officer performs a field sobriety test and you fail, it is highly likely you will be arrested on the spot. In North Carolina, if you are 21 years or older and your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or above, you are legally impaired. If you are under 21 years of age and have any alcohol in your bloodstream, then you are legally impaired and should not be driving as the state has a no tolerance policy in place for underage drinking.
A North Carolina officer has been accused of driving under the influence after a traffic stop. Another officer apparently spotted the man's car traveling at a high rate of speed over railroad tracks. The vehicle bottomed out and the accused turned the vehicle left, but was swerving and driving erratically. The officer stopped the vehicle and the accused is now facing charges of driving under the influence.
A Charlotte woman is lucky to be alive after a recent accident that sent her car into Lake Wylie. The accident occurred on the afternoon of July 2. Although she did not appear to sustain any physical injury from the crash, she is now facing a charge of driving under the influence.
A young man is facing a number of criminal charges in connection with a deadly accident that occurred recently in Charlotte. The 20-year-old has so far been charged with DWI, underage drinking, felony death by vehicle and involuntary manslaughter. He will need a strong criminal defense to confront these charges.
Law enforcement agencies in North Carolina go through spells of what they call "cracking down" on drunk drivers, and setting up checkpoints on the roadways is one way police officers try to increase DWI arrests.