Law Office of Christopher A. Connelly
Contact a criminal defense attorney today — 704-376-9376

Drug Charges Archives

Should a pregnant addiction sufferer be charged if she overdoses?

A woman in another state has been charged with aggravated assault on an unborn child after she overdosed while seven months pregnant. She now faces up to 20 years in prison.

Court strikes down lifetime supervised release order as punitive

A pair of defendants has received a second break on a conviction that once earned them life in prison. After a series of mistakes got their sentences knocked down to thirty years behind bars -- but with lifetime supervised release when they were out. Now an appellate court has ruled that supervised release order was probably meant to let a frustrated judge extend the men's prison terms.

Strong disapproval of mandatory minimums -- from the federal bench

We noted the stark reversal of a recently implemented -- and notably material -- reform of the criminal justice system in a recent blog post, pointing out in our May 17 entry the sudden departure from policy favored by former U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder via a new edict pronounced by Jeff Sessions, the current AG.

The bloated U.S. prison population is now likely to get bigger

If former U.S. Attorney General Eric Holder and current AG Jeff Sessions met at a party and were searching for the often-termed "ice breaker" topic to establish a bit of common ground, they'd likely cross mandatory minimum sentencing of the list of potential discussion topics -- and fast.

Here's an instructive North Carolina-based tale about videotaping

From the recorded exchange that recently took place between a Wilmington police officer and a North Carolina resident he stopped for allegedly being involved in an illicit drug-related transaction, two things quickly emerged as patently clear.

Know how medication can affect DUI tests

If you are stopped for driving under the influence and the law enforcement officer performs a field sobriety test and you fail, it is highly likely you will be arrested on the spot. In North Carolina, if you are 21 years or older and your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or above, you are legally impaired. If you are under 21 years of age and have any alcohol in your bloodstream, then you are legally impaired and should not be driving as the state has a no tolerance policy in place for underage drinking.

Protect Your Rights

Call 704-376-9376 or contact us through the form to the right to schedule a consult to discuss your case.

Reasonable Fees. Payment Plans. Credit Cards Accepted. Se Habla Español

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

CONTACT US TO DISCUSS YOUR CASE

Our Office / Follow Us

Law Office of Christopher A. Connelly
101 North McDowell Street, Suite 104
Charlotte, NC 28204

Phone: 704-376-9376
Charlotte Office Location