Being accused of driving while intoxicated can be a stressful and challenging process. The penalties for a conviction for drunk driving are serious, and become more severe with the presence of a collision involving serious injuries. A 35-year-old man is facing numerous charges following a recent collision in North Carolina in which two individuals reportedly suffered injuries.
Being accused of driving under the influence of alcohol can be a stressful and intimidating process. The penalties for a DUI conviction are serious and only increase in severity if an accident occurs, perhaps especially one that ends in death. A man has recently been accused of drunk driving following a fatal accident involving a pedestrian in North Carolina.
There are a multitude of circumstances that can lead an individual to exhibit erratic driving behavior. However, when an accident occurs under similar circumstances, the initial thoughts of the responding officers may lean toward intoxication. A 30-year-old man has recently been arrested and accused of drunk driving after he veered into the wrong lane and struck a school bus full of kids in North Carolina.
Legislators have recognized that simply taking away someone's license after they have received a conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol in North Carolina is often not effective at preventing repeat occurrences. The truth is that people still typically need to use their vehicles to get to work or school.
When you think about impaired driving and DUI/DWIs in North Carolina, the first thing that may come to your mind is alcohol. However, driving while under the influence of any controlled substance is illegal, so alcohol is not the only substance that could lead to a driving while impaired charge. People who use certain medications can receive DWIs too.
A man who drinks, for example, five beers in three hours will typically be less affected than a woman who drinks the same amount in the same time. This seems unfair, but it is a reality that can lead to bad outcomes. For instance, take a woman who is having dinner with a male friend she split a glass of wine with. He seems fine to drive, so she thinks she is fine, too. However, she may well be at greater risk of being pulled over for DUI.
If you are stopped for driving under the influence and the law enforcement officer performs a field sobriety test and you fail, it is highly likely you will be arrested on the spot. In North Carolina, if you are 21 years or older and your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or above, you are legally impaired. If you are under 21 years of age and have any alcohol in your bloodstream, then you are legally impaired and should not be driving as the state has a no tolerance policy in place for underage drinking.
You know what next Sunday is, right?
When you are charged or convicted with DUI, your life stands to change in a wide variety of ways, some expected, others unexpected. So you can prepare better, here is a look at what has happened to many people in these situations.
Well, it's Turkey Day.